Wednesday, September 4, 2013

Three Regions

Topographically, Nepal can be divided into there main regions:-

1.     The Himalayan Region:-
The northern most part of Nepal is called the Himalayan Region. It contains nearly 15% of the total land-area of the country. It rises from about 5,000 m to 8,848m and extends up to the southern border of Tibet. It’s breadth from north to south varies from 25km to 50km. It is legth 885kms long. There are a number of Himalayan ranges in this part. Some of them are Kumbhakarna, Mahalangur, Kanjiroba,  Annapurna, etc. Everest in the Mahalangur range is the highest peak in the world . It is 8,848 m high. Other important peaks are Knachanjungha, Lhotse, Makalu, Choyu, Dhawalagiri, etc. Mugu, Dolpa, Humla, mustang and Manang lie between the greater Himalayan ranges and Trans-Himalayan ranges bordering the Tibet. These are also known as Bhot valley.  It is often very cold and snowy. As the climate of Nepal varies from region to region, the people (Bhote, Serpa, Thakali, Rai etc) live here. They have different life styles and costumes. Much of the Himalayan Region is covered with snow. Only the southern part is inhabited. The people living in the houses made of stone and clay as the roofed also by stone or clay. The few numbers of houses have doors and windows. They eat 'dhindo' (boiled buckwheat-meal), potato and bread. They wear thick woolen and leather clothes made from the fur and skin of sheep and other animals. Their woolen jacket is called 'Bakkhu'. Their shoes are called 'Docha'. Gold, silver and copper ornaments are popular among women. Both males and females keep their hair long. Lhosar is their main festival.
Mountain Climbing 

Stupa of Buddhist 
2.     The Hilly Region:-
Hilly Region lies to the south of the Himalayan Region and extends to the Terai Region in the south. It covers 68% of the total area of Nepal. It's altitude ranges from about 600m to 4,877m high from sealevel it is from 75 to 125 km wide. Theregion consists of the midland, Mahabharat range, Churia range and Doons. The midland lies between the Mahabharath range and the Himalayan region. It consists of several hills like Shivpuri, tectonic valleys like Kathmandu and Pokhara, elevated tablelands like Palungtar, Rumjatar, and river valleys like Arun valley. Between the Mahabharat range and Churia range there are flat and longitudinal valleys Udayapur, Makawnpur, Chitwan, Nawalparasi and Dang-Doons. The Mahabharat and Churia are the continuous mountain ranges extending from west to east in this region. The major castes here are Brahmin, Kshetre, Magar, Newar, Rai, Darji, Bisokrma, Mijar and Tharu who observe various festivals. This region enjoys a moderate type of climate neither too hot nor too cold. People's food comprises of rice, bread, meat, eggs, milk and milk-produces. Most house are made of stone and  clay with thatched roofs. Houses are isolated from each other in the hills. But in towns now people make multi-storeyed  concrete buildings. In villages, men wear daura-suruwal, coat, cap, patuka, bhoto and kachhad. Women wear sari, cholo, dajetro and ghalek. But nowadays the Europen, Indian, Chinese and Pakistani dresses are becoming popular.

Agriculture Area  

Fewa Lake with Machhapure (Fishtail) 



3.     The Terai Region:-
It extends from the Chure Range in the north to the border of India in the south. This region is a belt of low and level land level land and contains 17% of the total area of Nepal. It's width varies from 25 to 30 km. It'saverage altitude is about 200m from the sea-level. The northern part of Terai is made up of stones. pebbles and other coarser materials. This part is known as Bhabar. It is not fertile. The famous  'Charkose Jhadi' lies in the Bhabar. The southern part of the Terai is made up of  fertile alluvial soil deposited by rivers and is called the "Granary of Nepal". The Terai is inhabited by Brahmins, Kayasthas, Yadavs, Telis, sundis, Rajputs, Danuwars, Tharus, Sunuwars etc. They observe several kinds of cocial and religious festivals. In this Region, settlements are large and houses are clustered together. Most people live in mud-houses with thatched roofs supported by wooden or bamboo poles. There are paintings of people, animals and flowers on the outer walls. Brick houses are being made now.  The main food of the people here is rice, pulse sand vegetable. Bread, milk, milk-products and mango are also included in their food. Because of the hot climate, light cotton clothes are used. Men's traditional clothes are Dhoti, kurta and women's sari and blouse. But nowadays the Europen, Indian, Chinese and Pakistani dresses are becoming popular for new generation. 

Mustard Plant 



Dresses of Three Regions 

Nepal Major Natural Divisions Regions


Post a Comment