Wednesday, September 4, 2013


Nepal is a landlocked country on the southern slope of the Himalayas. It is situated between India in the south, east and west and China in the north.
Nepal extends from 26022' N latitude and from 8004' E to 88012'E longitude. It is wider in the west than in the east. It’s average length from west to east is 885 kilometers but the width is different from place to place. The maximum width is 241 kilometers and minimum is 145 kilometers. On an average, the width(north-south) is 193 kilometers. The total area of Nepal is 1,47,181 square kilometers. This area is about 0.03% of the world and 0.3% of Asia. Nepal is country with a large number of hills and mountains. It has narrow plain strip in the south known as the Terai.

Nepal is bordered on the north by Tibet, an autonomous region of China. The Himalayas separate Nepal from Tibet and  the remaining  side south, west and east, there is India. The Singhlia Range and the Mechi River separate Nepal from Sikkim and West Bengal of  India. The southern border is open from east to west. There is no natural landform or water mass to separate Nepal from India. Only the boundary Pillars that have been erected separate the two countries. The south of Nepal  lies Bihar, Uttrpradesh and Uttaranchal states of India. The western border is formed by the Mahakali River, which separates Nepal from Uttar Pradesh.
Nepal is a land of natural diversities. It is blessed with a variety of ecosystems, treeless sub-alpine pastures and dense forest. Nepal has more variety of flora and fauna than any other country in Asia.

In Nepal there are about 6,000 river and rivulets. The total length of the waterway is about 45,000 KM. The weather conditions vary from place to place. The rainfall distribution also varies from region to region.

Nepal have 3 regions, 5 development  regions, 14 zones and 75 districts. The land slopes southwards from the highest point of the earth to nearly to the sea level. The figure illustreted below with it’s 5 development  regions, 14 zones and 75 districts.